Virginia Association of Law Libraries Annual Report 2016-2017

The Virginia Association of Law Libraries' (VALL) 2016-2017 executive board consisted of Patricia Petroccione, President; Lara Dresser, Vice President/President-Elect; Andrew Winston, Secretary; Alison Hancock, Treasurer; Meldon Jenkins-Jones, Doris Morgan, and Evelyn Campbell (ex-officio), Directors; and Stephanie Miller, Past President.

Meetings/Programs: VALL again hosted educational meetings in the fall and spring, with programs aimed at providing informative and interesting topics to its members. The 2016 fall meeting was held at Lewis Ginter Botanical Gardens in Richmond. Topics included a program on cybersecurity that looked at the effects of data breaches in law firms, a program on competitive intelligence, and a workshop on 'managing your career.' The 2017 spring meeting was held at William and Mary Law School in Williamsburg with sessions covering legal data science and its relevance to law librarianship, insider tips on FOIA in Virginia, and how emerging legal technology is expanding access to justice. VALL also hosted a social luncheon at the AALL Annual Meeting & Conference in Chicago.

VALL members in the Richmond-area continued to have monthly informal dining events, in conjunction with the local chapter of the Special Libraries Association. The invitations were extended to all area library professionals.

VALL will host a joint meeting with the Virginia Library Association in October 2017 in Norfolk, Virginia.

Publications: Several VALL members contributed articles to the Virginia State Bar publication, the Virginia Lawyer, on legal research topics such as environmental law under the Trump Administration, a legislative update on family law, and finding and using images without violating copyright law.

Grants: VALL presented grant awards to two members this year to attend the AALL 2017 Annual Meeting and Conference.

Best wishes go out to VALL's 2017-2018 executive board: Lara Dresser, President; Andrew Winston, Vice President/President-Elect; Dana Deseck-Piazzon, Secretary; David Knight, Treasurer; Doris Morgan, Alexis Fetzer Sharp, and Evelyn Campbell (ex-officio), Directors; and Patricia Petroccione, Past President.

Respectfully Submitted, Lara Dresser President 2017-2018